Pekka Kolivuori
Pete Ahonen
Jussi Ontero
Jukka Jokikokko
Lead vocals, Guitars
Drums, Keyboards




BURNING POINT was founded in the Fall of 1999 in Oulu, Finland. After the recordings of only one promotional CD,
the band managed to get a record deal with a well-known German based metal label, Limb Music (LMP), who released
the albums "Salvation By Fire" (2001) and "Feeding The Flames" (2003).

Despite massive legal problems which ended up in fights through lawyers and the loss of their record deal, the band
managed to get live slots on some big festivals such as Tuska Metal Festival and Sweden Rock. In 2004 the band took
a new, fifth member to the band. Jussi Ontero was chosen to take over the keyboards and the the band went straight
to the studio to record the single "To Hell And Back" which was released only in Finland and Sweden by Poison
Arrow Records. Between the late 2004 and early 2006, two members of the original line-up went their own ways.
Jukka (guitars) continued his own band NNS and Jope (bass) joined Catamenia. In 2005 BURNING POINT recorded another promotional CD. It was brought to the attention of Metal Heaven in Germany and they offered the band a record deal. Spring 2006 the remaining members, Pete, Jussi & Jari started to record the new album. In the middle of the sessions they asked one of their long-time friends, Pekka Kolivuori to step in and fill the 2nd guitarists place.
The line-up was completed by the new bassist, Jukka Jokikokko (who also did the engineering of the album in the
HelGate studios) at the end of 2006.

"Burned Down The Enemy" (2007) marked the end of an era but also the beginning of something new. The band played extensively nationally after the release of the album, but they also made a quick visit to Romania's Maximum
Rock Festival. In the spring of 2008 BURNING POINT started the recordings of a new album, "Empyre" at the HelGate
studios. The band's line-up also changed as Jari stepped out of the band to focus on his other band and Jussi took
over the drums. Pasi Hiltula (ex-Kalmah, ex-Eternal Tears of Sorrow), who also played on the first two albums,
was chosen to be the new keyboardist. Between the recording sessions the band also did few chosen gigs like
supporting ex-Skid Row vocalist Sebastian Bach.

Empyre is without a doubt "back to the roots" album and you'll definitively hear a strong "80's vibe" on the album.
Naturally the cover songs and the guests, which are inlcuded on the Limited Edition, just prove the point.
Running Wild's "Gods of Iron" (feat. Majk Moti, ex- Running Wild), The Rod's "Nuclear Skies"
(feat. David "Rock" Feinstein), Q5's "Let Go" (feat. Jonathan K) and a cover song from one of the biggest artist
in Finland, Kirka, "I'll Be Yours" from Kirka's album R.O.C.K. (1986) features vocals by Taage (Kilpi & ex-Altaria)
and lead guitars by ex-Kirka guitarist Riku Kukkonen. The new album also marks a big point on what comes to the
songwriting. Four members of the band took part to the writing of the songs on the album, first time in the band's
history! The "top notch" production on the album is from the band's own hands and the great mastering was done by
Minerva Pappi at the famous Finnvox Studios. The cover artist, Felipe Machado Franco, is also known from his
artwork to bands like Iced Earth, Blaze Bayley, Axel Rudi Pell...etc.

Andreas "RockBelt": *Band Score 8.0/10* "If you Dig Melodic Metal, pay attention to these guys! "
For BeRock Radio MiniZine (2012)

Release Year 2001
Release Year 2003
Release Year 2007
Release Year 2009
Release Year 2012
Bookmark and Share
Spacial - AudioRealm